DC-2d inversion with Wenner

Hi, I’m a geophysics graduate student practicing doing DC 2D inversion, I’m trying to use the code example provided on your website 2.5D DC Resistivity Least-Squares Inversion — SimPEG 0.14.3 documentation to do some SIMPEG inversion.

However, when I try to produce the Pesudosection of the data by using dc.utils.plot_pseudoSection(), it always jumps the error message:
IndexError: index 0 is out of bounds for axis 1 with size 0
Or
sometimes gives this: ValueError: all the input array dimensions for the concatenation axis must match exactly, but along dimension 0, the array at index 0 has size 573 and the array at index 1 has size 1

I have checked as many times as I can, I couldn’t find the reason for this error.
I’m trying to use Wenner Geometry instead of dipole-dipole.
If you could provide an example of how to do Wenner for 2D inversion, it would be helpful.

Thanks in advance.

Hi Yun,
if you could share your code that would be easier to resolve.

Hi Thibaut, here is the code. the observation data format is like below(I can’t upload the data from here).

10m multinodes wenner
15 10 31.4
30 20 31.0
45 30 30.1
60 40 27.6
75 50 24.8
90 60 22.5
105 70 21.9
120 80 19.4
135 90 16.8
25 10 31.2
40 20 31.6
35 10 29.7
50 20 30.8
65 30 29.9
80 40 29.1
95 50 26.0
155 90 18.6
45 10 29.0
60 20 29.8
120 60 22.1
55 10 27.8
70 20 29.0
85 30 29.9
100 40 28.9
If you need this data from me, let me know, I’ll send it to you through other means.

read in observation data

contents = np.genfromtxt(data_filename, skip_header = 1, delimiter=’ \n’, dtype=np.str)

n_sources = int(contents[2].split()[0]) # it is at the 3rd line fist element
n_topo = int(contents[579].split()[0]) # the 579th line 1st element

x_locations = np.zeros(n_sources) # zero vector
a_spacings = np.zeros(n_sources)
apparent_resistivity_values = np.zeros(n_sources)
a_locations = np.zeros(n_sources)
b_locations = np.zeros(n_sources) # zero vector
m_locations = np.zeros(n_sources)